Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
Global Navigation
Division of Consumer Affairs
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Division of Consumer Affairs Alerts and Recalls
Office of the Attorney General Homepage Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Consumer Affairs, Director
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs Highlights
Division of Consumer Affairs Topics in a A-Z List Format
Office of Consumer Protection (OCP)
New Jersey Bureau of Securities
Office of Weights and Measures
Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission
Alternative Dispute Resolution
Professions and Occupations List
Contact the Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Consumer Affairs in Spanish
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
Subscribe to Buyer Beware Alerts
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Download Free PDF Reader


State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners
Frequently Asked Questions

General Questions:


Continuing Education Questions:


Advertising Questions:


Renewal Procedure Questions:


Licensure Questions:


Other:


General Questions:

  1. How do I request verification of my New Jersey physical therapist or physical therapist assistant?s license?

    You should send a written request for verification of your license to the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, P.O. Box 45014, Newark New Jersey 07101. The fee for licensure verification is $40.00. The written request must include your name, New Jersey license number, the name and address of the state board that you wish your verification to be mailed to, and a $40.00 check or money order made payable to the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. If the state board seeking verification of your license has a specific form to be completed by the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, the specific form is also to be included with the written request.

  2. How do I request a duplicate license?
    Submit a written request for a duplicate license to the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, P.O. Box 45014, Newark New Jersey 07101. The fee for a duplicate license is $25.00. The written request must include your name, address and New Jersey license number. You must also enclose a check or money order in the amount of $25.00 made payable to the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners.

  3. When must I notify the Board of a change of address?
    New Jersey licensed physical therapists and physical therapist assistants must notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any change in the address on file with the Board and must specify whether the address is a residence or employment address.

  4. How do I notify the Board that my name has changed?
    Send a written request to the New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, P.O. Box 45014, Newark, New Jersey 07101. Notification of a name change must include a copy of the marriage license or court order that authorized the legal name change.

Continuing Education Questions:

  1. When and where do I send my continuing education certificates of completion?
    Do not send documentation to the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners unless you receive an official ?continuing education audit? letter. If your name is selected at random to be audited, you will then be provided with specific instructions and you will have 14 days from receipt of the continuing education audit letter to submit all of the pertinent documents to the Board. N.J.A.C. 13:39A-9.4(a) requires all licensees to retain continuing education documentation for a period of at least four years following the license renewal.




  2. Do I need to complete four credits of jurisprudence and professional ethics during each biennial renewal period?
    Yes. N.J.A.C. 13:39A-9.2(a) requires that every licensed physical therapist and physical therapist assistant complete 30 credits of continuing education which must include four credits of jurisprudence and professional ethics for each biennial renewal period.




  3. Can the four (4) jurisprudence and professional ethics credits be taken through distance-learning courses such as home study or Internet courses?
    Licensees must complete a 1.5-credit Jurisprudence Assessment Module offered by one of the sponsors listed on the New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners’ website for the jurisprudence portion of the requirement. Licensees can complete any ethics course (distance learning or live) of 2.5 credits or more to meet the four-credit jurisprudence and professional ethics requirement.




  4. How many credits can be obtained from distance learning courses such as home study or Internet courses?
    A maximum of 10 of the mandatory 30 continuing education credits from any or all of the following:
    1. Videotape, audiotape, computer media, Internet, journal, or correspondence courses, programs or seminars: a maximum of 10 credits per course, program or seminar. The course, program or seminar shall include an examination at its end.

    2. Programs or seminars consisting of hands-on demonstrations of instrumentation when accompanied by didactic lectures: one-half credit for each hour of attendance.

    3. Preparation and presentation of a Board-approved continuing education course, program or seminar: two credits for each hour of new presentation up to a maximum of 10 credits. For purposes of this subsection, ?new? means a course, program or seminar that the licensee has not taught previously in any educational setting. One credit for each hour of a presentation shall be given for subsequent sessions involving substantially identical subject matter up to a maximum of 10 credits, provided the original material has been updated and subject to the credit limits of N.J.A.C. 13:39A-9.3.

    4. Preparation of an educational or scientific article authored and published in a professional refereed journal: three credits per article as approved by the Board.

    5. Courses, programs or seminars in physical therapy practice management: one credit for each hour of attendance.



  5. If I am currently enrolled in a physical therapy program earning a Doctor of Physical Therapy degree, can these credits count towards the continuing education requirement?
    Yes. A licensee can receive 15 credits for each course credit awarded from the successful completion of a post-graduate course in a physical therapy program leading to a Doctor of Physical Therapy (D.P.T.) degree. Such programs must be in institutions of higher learning, which are accredited by the United States Department of Education or the Council on Postsecondary Accreditation or their approved agencies. To earn continuing education credits, the course must be taken and completed within the appropriate biennial period.




  6. If I was licensed during the first year of the biennial renewal period (February 1st of every even year through January 31st of every odd year), how many continuing education credits do I need to complete before my license expires?
    You must complete a minimum of 15 of the 30 required credits of continuing education for that biennial renewal period. You will not need to complete another Jurisprudence Assessment Module for the first renewal of your license if you have already completed a Jurisprudence Assessment Module for licensure. You will, however, need to complete a professional ethics course of 2.5 credits or more.




  7. If I was licensed during the second year of the biennial renewal period (February 1st of every odd year through January 31st of every even year), how many continuing education credits do I need to complete before my license expires?
    You are exempt from completing continuing education credits for that biennial renewal period. (N.J.A.C. 13:39A-9.2(b))




  8. How many credits can I obtain from completing a CPR course?
    You can obtain 2 credits for successfully completing an initial CPR course or a re-certification CPR course. If you are audited, you will be required to provide a copy of your current CPR card as verification and/or proof of attendance.




  9. Are there courses other than the courses listed on the New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners approval list
    http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/pt/ptce.htm that I can take and obtain continuing education credits?

    Yes. The New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners currently accepts courses sponsored by the National American Physical Therapy Association, the New Jersey Chapter of the American Physical Therapy Association and the New Jersey Society of Independent Physical Therapists.




  10. Are live webinars considered distance-learning courses such as home study or Internet courses?
    Live webinars are not considered distance-learning courses. Live webinars are considered contact courses (synchronous distance-learning activities) if they are a live, didactic-learning experience where the instructor and learner are in direct live communication during the course.




  11. If I complete a jurisprudence course other than a Jurisprudence Assessment Module, will those continuing education credits fulfill the mandatory jurisprudence requirement?
    No. Only the completion of a Board-approved Jurisprudence Assessment Module will satisfy the mandatory jurisprudence requirement. If you complete any other jurisprudence course approved by the Board, it will count towards the remaining 26 required continuing education credits.




Advertising Questions:

  1. Can a physical therapist advertise his or her certification in a specialty area?
    Yes. Any licensed physical therapist advertising certification in a specialty area must possess certification by a certifying entity and must maintain documentary proof of certification from the entity as part of his or her records. A licensed physical therapist who advertises a specialty certification shall include the full name of the certification and the certifying entity in any advertisement and must not use initials or acronyms for the certification or certifying entity. For example, a licensed physical therapist who indicates that he or she is an Orthopaedic Clinical Specialist certified by the American Board of Physical Therapists in an advertisement may use the abbreviations O.C.S. and A.B.P.T. only after the full names are used first and the abbreviation has been noted following the full name, otherwise the abbreviation or acronym may not be used.




  2. Can an academic degree be advertised?
    Yes. A licensee shall use the designation ?physical therapist? or ?physical therapist assistant? or the abbreviation ?P.T.? or ?P.T.A.? in conjunction with the use of his or her name and license number. Academic degree designations may be placed after the licensee?s name and designation pursuant to N.J.A.C. 13:39A-8.5(b).




Renewal Procedure Questions

  1. How often must a license as a physical therapist or a physical therapist assistant be renewed?
    The renewal period is biennial. All physical therapy and physical therapist assistant licenses expire every two years on January 31 of any even-numbered year, regardless of the date of initial licensure.

  2. Can a license be placed on ?inactive? status?
    Yes. The physical therapist and physical therapist assistant licenses can be placed on inactive status by checking ?yes? for the appropriate question on the biennial renewal application, or by sending a written request to the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. However, be advised that placing your license on inactive status means that you may not practice as a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant in the State of New Jersey.



  3. How can a license be reactivated?
    In order to reactivate a license, a reinstatement application must be requested directly from the State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners. Upon receipt of a letter requesting the application, the reinstatement application and the relevant instructions will be mailed. The applicant is required to present satisfactory proof that he or she has maintained proficiency by completing the continuing education credit hours required for the renewal of an active license. N.J.A.C. 13:39A-5A.2(b) requires that a person who seeks to reactivate his or her license shall complete 30 credits of continuing education per biennial renewal period that the licensee has been on inactive status up to a maximum of 60 credits.



Licensure Questions

  1. Can an individual with a physical therapy degree or with the education of a physical therapist qualify for a license as a physical therapist assistant?
    No. Licensing requirements for a physical therapist assistant include having completed a two-year physical therapist assistant program and completion of all clinical education requirements for graduation from a physical therapist assistant program from an accredited college or university approved for the education and training of physical therapist assistants by an accrediting agency recognized by the Council on Post Secondary Accreditation and the United States Department of Education (N.J.A.C. 13:39A-5.2).

  2. Does an individual with a master?s degree in exercise and sports science qualify for a physical therapist license?
    No. Licensing requirements for a physical therapist include possessing a minimum of a master?s degree in physical therapy from an accredited college or university and having completed all of the clinical education requirements necessary for graduation from a physical therapy program approved for the education and training of physical therapists by an accrediting agency recognized by the Council of Post Secondary Accreditation and the United States Department of Education.


  3. What is the fee for a physical therapist license?
    If a physical therapist applicant is eligible for a license during the first year of the biennial renewal period (February 1st of every even year through January 31st of every odd year), the fee for a license is $110.00.

    If a physical therapist applicant is eligible for a license during the second year of the biennial renewal period (February 1st of every odd year through January 31st of every even year), the fee for a license is $55.00.

    Once an applicant is determined to be eligible for a license, the New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners will notify the applicant and at that time the applicant can submit the licensure fee.


  4. What is the fee for a physical therapist assistant license?
    If a physical therapist assistant applicant is eligible for a license during the first year of the biennial renewal period (February 1st of every even year through January 31st of every odd year), the fee for a license is $100.00.

    If a physical therapist assistant applicant is eligible for a license during the second year of the biennial renewal period (February 1st of every odd year through January 31st of every even year), the fee for a license is $50.00.

    Once an applicant is determined to be eligible for a license, the New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners will notify the applicant and at that time the applicant can submit the licensure fee.

Other

  1. If I work at more than one location, where do I need to post my license?
    If a licensee practices at more then one location, the licensee must post his or her original biennial renewal certificate at each location. In this type of situation, the licensee will need to contact the Board office in writing and request a duplicate biennial renewal certificate for each location. If a licensee is employed by a hospital and the hospital sends the licensee to off-site locations, the licensee needs to post his or her biennial renewal certificate at the hospital and at each off-site location. If a licensee is employed by a facility in which they provide home care, the licensee would need to post his or her biennial renewal certificate at the facility and carry the small wallet certificate with him/her when that licensee goes out in the field. If a licensee is employed in a school setting, he or she must post the original biennial renewal certificate in a public location in the school district and carry the small wallet certificate with him/her while in the schools.

  2. How often do re-evaluations need to be performed?
    The State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners? statutes and regulations do not address timeframes in which a re-evaluation should be performed. Based on the patient?s plan of care, it is within the professional judgment of the physical therapist to determine when a re-evaluation should be performed. Payers or facilities may have their own policies regarding timeframes for re-evaluations.


  3. . What are the regulations regarding supervision of students in the clinical setting?
    N.J.S.A. 45:9-37.19 permits "any student enrolled in a school or post-graduate course of physical therapy or in a course of study for training as a physical therapist assistant that is approved or recognized by the board from performing physical therapy or acting as a physical therapist assistant, as appropriate, which is necessary to his course of study.? Students must have direct supervision by a licensed physical therapist and the physical therapist must abide by the statutes and regulations governing the practice of physical therapy in the State of New Jersey. The supervising physical therapist is ultimately responsible for all of the treatment provided by the student.


  4. How should a physical therapist assistant be supervised by the physical therapist?
    In accordance with N.J.S.A. 45:9-37.13 and N.J.A.C. 13:39A-7.2, a supervising physical therapist must be in the same building or a contiguous building while the physical therapist assistant is rendering care. Depending upon what type of an environment a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant practices in, the physical therapist or physical therapist assistant may need to abide by other statutes and regulations that may be more restrictive.


  5. Can a physical therapist assistant perform joint mobilizations?
    The State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners? statutes and regulations do not prohibit physical therapists from delegating this procedure. It is the physical therapist?s responsibility to delegate appropriately provided the physical therapist assistant is sufficiently trained. A physical therapist is prohibited from delegating the evaluation of the patient to a physical therapist assistant. The delegation of this procedure may not be appropriate if a patient requires continual evaluation.


  6. Is a physical therapist permitted to take an order from a physician concerning a patient?s medication and to educate a patient regarding a medication in terms of its use, indications and contraindications?
    A physical therapist may relay the physician?s direction to the patient and document the physician?s direction in the patient?s record. A physical therapist may educate a patient concerning his/her medication as long as it relates to the practice of physical therapy. For example, a physical therapist may explain how the patient?s medication may interact with the patient?s physical therapy treatment. The global education on medications is beyond the scope of practice of physical therapy. Any questions that are beyond the reaction of a medication in relation to physical therapy should be referred to a physician or another appropriate health care provider.


Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: ../DCA Home | ../Complaint Forms | Proposals | Adoptions | Contact DCA
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by DCA. Comments/Questions: email

Page last modified: